A lot of you all are probably preparing for a three day weekend with the Memorial Day holiday approaching. Though the holiday is a tribute to those who have fallen in the armed forces, it is also the unofficial start of summer. For us in the colder states this means that pools will be open along with people firing up those barbecue pits.

Whatever you decide to do this weekend, you will need some new tunes to listen to. This week we have new music from Lil Durk, Kodak Black, Jay Worthy & Roc Marciano, plus a slew of new singles I will be adding to my playlist. Just be sure to save a brother a plate, and enjoy your weekend festivities.

Lil Durk – Almost Healed

Despite being one of the biggest emerging rappers over the last few years, Lil Durk has been through a lot. As Alicia Key narrates on the intro “Therapy Session,” Durk has suffered from losing his brother and King Von to gun violence. Having to withstand the pain along with managing his music career, Durk’s consistency for dropping music could be therapeutic for all the things he has endured the last few years.

Almost Healed is Durk’s latest project and looks to navigate the journey that he has been on the last few years. Enlisting J Cole on his lead single “All My Life,” the 21 song project also feautures Future, 21 Savage, Kodak Black, Juice Wrld, Morgan Wallen, and Rob49. Durk’s latest project shows his growth as he balances his street anthems with a few more palpable radio singles. Tracks you check out on the project include “Never Imagined,” “War Bout It,””Stand By Me,” and “Before Fair.”

Kodak Black – Pistolz & Pearlz

Kodak Black is back with a new project Pistolz & Pearlz today. Along with the release of his new project, Black is releasing a short film The Don (see below). The new project features guest appearances EST Gee and several members from his camp. This project also is Kodak Black’s last album on Atlantic Records. In the meanwhile make sure you check out “Church on Saturday,” “Roses,” “Dirt McGerk,” and Pistolz & Pearlz


Jay Worthy & Roc Marciano – Nothing Bigger Than the Program

Jay Worthy and Roc Marciano have teamed up for their new collaborative project Nothing Bigger Than The Program. If you are looking for solid wordplay and gritty beats then this project is for you. The guest features on the project include Bun B, AB-Soul, Kokane, Kurupt, Jay 305, A$ton Matthews, Dash, ASAP Ant and Bart Oatmeal. My favorite tracks on the project include “Underground Legends,” “The Field,” “The Plug,” “Wake Up,” and “Simple Man.”

Sexy Redd – Pound Town 2

St. Louis rising artist Sexy Redd has been blowing up thanks to her song “Pound Town. Just when you thought it couldn’t get better Big Sexy Red linked up with Nicki Minaj for “Pound Town 2”.

Enforcer Friday

Hope you all have a good holiday weekend. Don’t forget to check out the playlist for the rest of today’s new entries.

Elvin Chambers